June 10, 2024

Open School

Open School

Open school is one of the largest schools among six schools of BOU in terms of the number of students’ enrollment. Any person has the opportunity to be admitted irrespective of his/her age, gender, disability and profession in any program of the school. Currently, the school is offering three programs namely Secondary School Certificate (SSC), Higher Secondary Certificate (HSC) and Bachelor of Business Studies (BBS) which are equivalent to Secondary, Higher Secondary and Bachelor of Business Studies programs prevailing in the Country. This school initiated SSC program from 1995 and HSC programs from 1998. Business Studies program has emerged from the 2005-2006 session.


Formal Programs

1. Secondary School Certificate (SSC)

2. Higher Secondary Certificate (HSC) and

3. Bachelor of Business Studies (BBS)


Number of the Students in SSC, HSC and BBS (Three Years)

Program YearSSCHSCBBS
MaleFemaleTotalMaleFemaleTotalMaleFemaleTotal
2012332252223455459319182684958767000
2011492683037779645309512551756468000
2010644774042910490632732276136034529686382

SSC Program

LevelCertificate
BranchesHumanities and Commerce
Year02
Minimum Duration2 Years
Maximum duration5 Years
Minimum Requirement for AdmissionClass Eight, JSC or Equivalent



HSC Program

LevelCertificate
BranchesHumanities, Science and Commerce
Year02
Minimum Duration2 Years
Maximum duration5 Years
Minimum Requirement for AdmissionSSC Pass or Equivalent

HSC Learners’ Guide


BBS Program

LevelDegree
Duration3 Years
Maximum duration5 Years
Minimum Requirement for AdmissionHSC Pass or Equivalent


Research Activities

Open school has undertaken a project named “Girls Innovation Initiative in Bangladesh.” It is financially supported by Canadian Open Learning (COL). Baseline study has already been completed.


Journals/Publication

Open school has its own journal named “The Journal of Open School.” The notice will be issued soon for the call for paper.


List of Faculty Members: 

Name and DesignationPhone/E-mail
MS. Sabina Yeasmin
Dean & Professor (Home Economics) 
09666730730 Ex.635, 637,  9291109, 01715835899(cell), 9134726(res)
sabina_d@hotmail.com
Dr. Sadia Afroz Sultana
Professor (Physics)
09666730730 Ex.636, 9291178(res), 01953205298(cell)
sadia_afroze@yahoo.com
sadia.os@bou.edu.bd
Dr. Md. Chenggish Khan
Professor (Bengali)
09666730730 Ex.638, 0711174653 (cell)
chenggish@gmail.comchenggishkhan@yahoo.com
Dr. Mohd. Amirul Islam
Professor (Chemistry)
09666730730 Ex.639, 01720273830 (cell)
amirul202@yahoo.com
Dr. Zobaida Akter
Associate Professor (Philosophy)
 09666730730 Ex.640, 01715011224 (cell)
zobadiakhter@hotmail.com
Dr. Muhammad Abdur Rahim
Associate Professor (Islamic Studies)
09666730730 Ex.641 , 01714300146(cell)
dr.araheem@yahoo.com
Dr. Rafsan Mahmud
Associate Professor (English)
09666730730 Ex.649, 01712937315 (cell)
rafsan31@gmail.com
Md. Motaharul Islam
Associate Professor (Management)
09666730730 Ex.642, 01711066605(cell)
motaharul2002@yahoo.com
MS Ananya Laboni
Associate Professor (Home Economics)
09666730730 Ex.643, 01711876979 (cell)
laboni0202@yahoo.com
Dr. Most. Shirin Sultana
Associate Professor (Agriculture)
09666730730 Ex.644, 01913505898 (cell)
ssultana20@gmail.com
Md. Jafaur Ahamed
Associate Professor (Accounting)
09666730730 Ex.645, 01712283421 (cell)
jafaur@yahoo.com
Dr. Md. Iqbal Husain
Associate Professor (Sociology) 
09666730730 Ex.646, 01832057057 (cell)
ihusain1979@gmail.com
Zahed Mannan
Associate Professor (Management) 
09666730730/648, 01825890675 (cell)
zmannan@outlook.com
Md. Anwarul Islam
Assistant Professor (Mathematics)
09666730730 Ex.650, 01715888844/ 01674970773(cell)
islamanwar2000@yahoo.com
Md. Mizanoor Rahman
Assistant Professor (Finance & Banking)
09666730730 Ex.651, 01552352142(cell)
mizan2006@yahoo.com
Most. Najnin Jahan
Assistant Professor (Philosophy)
09666730730 Ex.316, 01716916574 (cell)
najraj_bou@yahoo.com
MS Tasrun Jahan
Assistant Professor (Economics)
09666730730 Ex.140, 01552377965 (cell)
tasrun.jahan@gmail.com
Masud Mohammad Pervez
Assistant Professor (Marketing)
09666730730 Ex.647, 01712803834 (cell)
parvezbgd@yahoo.com
Umasree Dhar
Assistant Professor (Physics)
09666730730 Ex.653, 01771728144 (cell)
umasree_cu@yahoo.com
Md. Ali Karim
Assistant Professor (Islamic History)
09666730730 Ex.654, 01818251352 (cell)
alikarimsshl@yahoo.com
MS Meherin Munjarin Ratna
Assistant Professor (Bangla)
09666730730 Ex.558, 01717208592 (cell)
meherin2010@gmail.com
Md. Shahidur Rahman
Assistant Professor(Botany)
01191360465 (cell)
shahidurbou@.gmail.com
MS Ridita Tasmin
Assistant Professor (English)
09666730730 Ex.656, 01717402496 (cell)
riditatasmin@gmail.com
Dr. Md. Zakirul Islam
Assistant Professor (Geography)
09666730730 Ex.657, 01716474529 (cell)
zislam.geo.bou@gmail.com
Md. Abdus Sattar
Assistant Professor (Sociology)
09666730730 Ex.658, 01716894103 (cell)
sattardu@gmail.com
MS Shahina Akter
Assistant Professor (Geography)
09666730730 Ex.659, 01832345005 (cell)
shahina.bou@gmail.com
Sodip Roy
Assistant Professor (Political Science)
09666730730 Ex.660, 01715698640 (cell)
sodip.roy@gmail.com
MS Kazi Sarmin Pamela
Assistant Professor (Marketing)
09666730730 Ex.661, 01552405812 (cell)
Kazisharmin.du@gmail.com
Runu Biswas
Assistant Professor (Mathematics) 
09666730730 Ex.827, 01716846425 (cell)
runu_biswas@yahoo.com
Md. Mynuddin
Assistant Professor (Management) 
09666730730 Ex.828, 01922004410(cell)
mynu.du@gmail.com
Md. Dulal Mahmud
Assistant Professor (ICT) 
09666730730 Ex.0831, 01716394007 (cell)
dulal03@gmail.com
Dr. Md. Adnan Arif Salim
Assistant Professor (History) 
09666730730 Ex.830, 01925647293 (cell)
aurnab@bou.edu.bd
aurnabmaas@gmail.com
Mohd. Kutub Uddin
Lecturer (Islamic Studies) 
09666730730 Ex.826, 01711263785 (cell)
kutub_bou@yahoo.com
Masud Talukder
Lecturer(English)
09666730730 Ex.829, 01670449177(cell)
tamasud82@gmail.com
Al-Amin Sarker
Lecturer (Economics) 
09666730730 Ex.832, 01914157828 (cell)
al_aminsarker@yahoo.com
Nusrat Zahan Mou
Lecturer (English)
09666730730 Ex.196, 01719666111(cell)
nusratzahanmou@hotmail.com
Md. Omar Faruk Bhuiyan
Lecturer (Finance & Banking) 
09666730730 Ex.834, 01914954727 (cell)
omarsujon@gmail.com
Abu Zihad
Lecturer (Social Work) 
09666730730 Ex.833, 01711430502 (cell)
zihad.du05@gmail.com
Officer :
MS Suraiya Banu
Deputy Director
09666730730 Ex.141, 9291101-4/543
Md. Siddikul Islam
Assistant Director
09666730730 Ex.835, 01720119036(cell)
sislam9036@gmail.com
Kamolesh Dhar
Assistant Director 
09666730730 Ex.837, 01718266595(cell)
kamolesh@bou.edu.bd
Md. Tipu Sultan
Administrative Officer
09666730730 Ex.836, 01716603495(cell)
tipusultanbou@yahoo.com
Md. Shariful Islam
Administrative Officer
09666730730 Ex.838, 01770888440(cell)
sharif9767@gmail.com
MS Nuran Nahar
Administrative Officer 
09666730730 Ex.839
MS Taslima Amin
Administrative Officer
 09666730730 Ex.840